Best Launch Platforms

Guides · 12 min · Updated 2026-10-28

How to Launch on Indie Hackers (2026)

How to launch on Indie Hackers in 2026: posts, the products directory, and the Build Board, with cost and link notes from Indie Hackers’ own pages. Checked October 2026.

What Indie Hackers says it is

Indie Hackers is a founder community with a product directory attached, not a one-morning launch board. The homepage captured October 22, 2026 is titled “Indie Hackers: Work Together to Build Profitable Online Businesses.” Its description says “Connect with developers sharing the strategies and revenue numbers behind their companies and side projects.”

The footer labels FAQ, and that link is https://www.indiehackers.com/about. The page captured the same day says: “Indie Hackers is a place where the founders of profitable businesses and side projects can share their stories transparently, and where entrepreneurs can come to read and learn from those examples.” The next sentence calls it a community “where individual indie hackers come together to share their experiences, give and receive feedback, and rely on each other for support.”

Courtland Allen writes on that page that he created Indie Hackers in August 2016, that Stripe acquired it in April 2017, that his brother Channing joined as a co-founder, and that in March 2023 they spun it back out as an independent business with Stripe as a seed investor. On who counts: “You're an indie hacker if you've set out to make money independently. That means you're generating revenue directly from your customers, not indirectly through an employer. Other than that, there are no requirements!” The same answer says indie hackers are often solo founders, software engineers, and bootstrapped, and that cofounders, not coding, and raised money are all allowed.

The starting-up page captured October 22, 2026 puts a counter in the heading: “Over 497875 indie hackers are turning their ideas into income.” The HTML attribute is data-count="497875". That is a count the page displays. It is not a traffic number, and no visits or signup totals are stated on the pages read for this guide.

What was read, and what did not load

Checked October 2026. The read itself was October 28, 2026. Requests for the HTML of www.indiehackers.com returned HTTP 403 with a Cloudflare challenge (cf-mitigated: challenge). https://www.indiehackers.com/robots.txt and https://www.indiehackers.com/sitemap.xml returned 200 that day. The sitemap index lastmod is 2026-10-26T08:07:41+00:00. The three child sitemaps list 105,551 URLs: 104,333 under /post/, 492 under /top/, 118 under /ideas/, plus /, /stories, /ideas, /products, /about, /newest, /starting-up, /ai-coding-tools, /ai-code-editors, /vibe-coding-tools, and a long list of profile URLs.

Those sitemaps do not list /product/, /groups, /milestones, /guidelines, /plus, /new-post, or /newsletter. The October 22 homepage still links /plus, /new-post, and /newsletter, so absence from the sitemap is not the same thing as absence from the site. /guidelines has no HTTP 200 in the Wayback CDX index from 2023 through this check, and the live URL returned 403. A separate community-guidelines page was not found.

The page bodies below are Wayback captures of indiehackers.com, with the capture date on each one. Where a page does not say a price, a wait, a ranking rule, or a follow attribute, this guide says not stated. The catalog page on this site is /platforms/indie-hackers. This guide does not copy traffic or signup ranges onto Indie Hackers from that catalog page.

Where a launch can go

The October 22 navigation is Home, Starting Up, Case Studies DB, Products, Ideas DB, Vibe Coding Tools, and Subscribe to IH+. The footer adds Top Today (the homepage), Top This Week, Top This Month, the products directory, Highest Revenue, Add Yours, and the three databases. The homepage also links Submit a Post, Advertise, the newsletter, and a block called The Build Board.

SurfaceURL on the captureWhat that page calls itAccount or price, as stated
Homepage postshttps://www.indiehackers.com/Posts with an author, an upvote count, and a comment count. Top Today points here.No fee is printed on the homepage. A post button is separate: Submit a Post.
Newest/newest, paginated as /newest/2“Every post, newest first.” The October 18 capture also links All-Time, Monthly, and Weekly.A fee is not stated on the page.
Top lists/top/week-of-YYYY-MM-DD, /top/month-of-YYYY-MM, /top/all-timeHomepage: “Browse top posts by week, month, or all-time.” The week and month URLs change with the period.Ranking formula: not stated.
A new post/new-postHomepage link text: “Submit a Post to Indie Hackers.”Form fields: not stated. The archived HTML of this URL was an empty app shell.
Products directory/products“Browse products built by indie hackers. Filter by category, business model and monthly revenue.”“Create a free account to access the entire directory.”
Build BoardOn / and on /productsHomepage: “A daily leaderboard of build-in-public posts.” Products page heading: “The Build Board” with a Beta label.The logged-out upvote control points at /sign-up?next=/products.
A product page/product/{slug}Name, one-line description, Visit Website, posts, About, and People. Seen on LaunchOn.it, August 30, 2026.Website button rel on that page: nofollow noopener. A sitewide rule is not stated.
Add a product/products/newButton: “Add Your Product.” Footer: “Add Yours.”The logged-out Add Your Product button points at /sign-up?next=/products/new. Fields: not stated.
Product update/products/submitButton: “Submit an Update.”Fields: not stated.
Case studies/storiesNav label: “Case Studies DB.” Plus page: interviews with revenue numbers, each one also an AMA.Plus page: only IH+ members get full access to every story.
Ideas/ideas“A database of reports on successful startup ideas, tailored for indie hackers.”Plus page: only IH+ members get full access to every idea report.
Indie Hackers Plus/plus“A membership designed from the ground up to give you an advantage.”Annual Membership shown as $198 per year. Monthly price: not stated on this page.

The products directory and the Build Board

The products page captured October 22, 2026 is the closest thing Indie Hackers has to a launch surface, and it is two surfaces on one URL. Under the Build Board, five posts were ranked 1 through 5, each with a product name, a one-line description, the post title, and an upvote count. The counts on that render were 18, 6, 5, 3, and 3, in that order. Two products shared an upvote count of 3 and were still ranked 4 and 5. The tie-break is not stated. Load More points at /products?board=10.

A countdown sits under the Beta label: “Today's voting ends in…” The script on that page, when the deadline passes, sets the text to “Today's voting has closed. Reload for today's board.” The deadline attribute on the October 22 render was 1792738800001, which is 07:00:00 UTC on October 23, 2026. That is one page render. The page does not contain a sentence that says voting ends at 07:00 UTC every day. The homepage’s own line for the same block is “A daily leaderboard of build-in-public posts.”

Below the board, the Products Database says “Learn from the indie hackers behind thousands of profitable businesses and side projects.” Sort options on the page: Revenue: Verified First, Recently Updated, Recently Added, Revenue: High to Low, Revenue: Low to High. Filters: Category, Business Model, and Monthly Revenue with a min and a max. Business models listed: Free, Advertising, Affiliate/Commission, Transactional, Subscription-Based. The category list runs from Advertising through Writing and is on the page itself. The footer Highest Revenue link on the October 22 homepage is /products?sorting=highest-revenue.

Rows that rendered before the gate show a revenue figure and the words “verified revenue,” for example Ghost at $880,997 / month. Then the page says “Create a free account to access the entire directory.” How many products exist in total is not stated. Each visible website button on the Build Board used rel="nofollow noopener". The five destinations on that render were launchon.it, citewing.com, indieneed.com, clipcroft.com, and indiehunt.io.

Posts, newest, and the top lists

A post on the October 22 homepage is a title, a profile URL (a single path segment such as /argsoftware), an upvote count, and a comment count. Some entries under Featured are interviews, and some of those are marked “IH+ Subscribers Only.” The homepage does not define Featured, and it does not say what puts a post in that block. Submit a Post points at /new-post.

The newest page captured October 18, 2026 is titled “The Newest from Indie Hackers” and says “Every post, newest first.” It links All-Time to /top/all-time, Monthly to /top/month-of-2026-10, and Weekly to /top/week-of-2026-10-12. The October 22 homepage’s week link is /top/week-of-2026-10-19, so the week path moves. Pagination on the newest capture includes /newest/2. Each row shows an author, upvotes, comments, and a relative time such as 32m or 15h.

What kind of post gets more of those upvotes is not stated. The October 22 homepage happened to show questions (“3 launches, some traffic, almost no leads. Are we doing this right?”) and featured interviews side by side. That is a description of one afternoon, not a ranking rule. There is no Show IH label on the homepage, newest page, or products page that were read. A flair by that name is not stated on those pages.

Case studies, ideas, and the pages people still look for

Case Studies DB is /stories. The Plus page says it holds “600+ in-depth interviews with real indie hackers on how they started, grew, and scaled from $0 to $profitable,” and that “Every case study doubles as an AMA, where you can ask questions and get answers.” The same page’s FAQ says the database “contains hundreds of detailed case studies” and that “the vast majority of which share transparent revenue numbers.” It also says new case studies or idea reports are added “usually multiple times per week,” and that only Plus members have full access to every story.

Ideas DB is /ideas. The September 21, 2026 capture is titled “Ideas Database on Indie Hackers” and opens with “Get your creative juices flowing. A database of reports on successful startup ideas, tailored for indie hackers.” Cards on that capture include a revenue line, such as Transistor at $30K MRR. The sitemap lists 118 URLs under /ideas/ plus the index. The Plus page says each idea report includes researched customer segments, and that full access to every report is for Plus members. Whether the cards on the September capture are a public preview is not labeled on that page.

Starting Up, /starting-up, is a reading list in four steps: See What's Possible, Take the Leap, Build in Public, Grow and Thrive. It defines “indie hacker” as “creator of an online project or venture that can generate revenue” and “person seeking financial independence, creative freedom, and the ability to work on their own schedule.” It is not a submit form.

Vibe Coding Tools, /vibe-coding-tools, is in the October 22 nav. The September 29 capture says “Discover and compare the best tools for vibe coding. Updated weekly.” Filters on the page include IDEs, IDE Plugins, CLI Tools, Multiple Models, Free, Desktop, Web-Based, Open Source, and Self-Hosted. Tool pages use /tools/{slug}. The footer still points Add Yours at /products/new. It is a directory of coding tools. It is not the Build Board.

Two more URLs are in the October 26 sitemap and were not in the October 22 nav: /ai-coding-tools and /ai-code-editors. The Wayback CDX index has no HTTP 200 for either from 2025 through this check, and the live HTML did not load. What those pages contain is not stated.

Groups are easy to look for and were not a current listed surface on the days that were checked. A September 10, 2026 capture of /groups is titled “Groups for Indie Hackers” and describes Fastest Growing, Most Popular, All Active Groups, Recently Launched, New Proposals, and Inactive Groups, each “updated daily at midnight PST.” Create New Group points at /new-group. The group names themselves did not render; the HTML shows a loading spinner. That URL is not in the October 26 sitemap, and the October 22 homepage footer does not link it. Meetups (/meetups) is linked from the September 10 footer and is also absent from that sitemap and from the October 22 footer.

Milestones are a word on the Plus page, not a board in the current sitemap. The Plus benefits line is “Premium founder profile, so you can show off your projects, content, and milestones.” /milestones is not in the October 26 sitemap and is not in the October 22 nav. The newest Wayback 200 for that URL in the index used here is January 3, 2024, and the HTML that loaded had no readable milestones list. A milestone feed you can post into is not stated.

How to post, as far as the pages say

The terms say “You may be required to sign up for an account, and select a password and username,” and that registration information has to be accurate, complete, and up to date. You may not pick a username you have no right to use, or another person’s name in order to impersonate them. You may not transfer the account without prior written permission. The logged-out products page makes the account concrete: Add Your Product points at /sign-up?next=/products/new, and the upvote control, titled “Upvote,” points at /sign-up?next=/products. A logged-in version of those buttons was not in the HTML.

The product record is the page at /product/{slug}. The LaunchOn.it page captured August 30, 2026 shows the name, a one-line description (“Pay-to-Rank Leaderboard for Startups”), Visit Website, a posts count, a Website field, an X handle, dated posts, a comment box, an About blurb, and People with a Founder. The comment box says “Say something nice…” and the button says “Post Comment.” Which of those fields the /products/new form actually asks for is not stated. The archived HTML of /products/new, /products/submit, and /new-post was an empty application shell, and the live URLs returned 403.

A post and a product update are different buttons. Submit a Post goes to /new-post and shows up in the homepage feed, on /newest, and in the top lists if it gets there. Submit an Update goes to /products/submit and is what the Build Board is made of: a post attached to a product, with a rank for the day. The homepage Build Board links each entry to /product/{slug}?post={id}. Courtland’s about page, on getting help, says to submit a post rather than email him: “You're likely to get some great replies from experienced entrepreneurs.”

The newsletter is separate from posting. https://www.indiehackers.com/newsletter, captured October 17, 2026, says “Everything you need to know as an indie hacker, 100% free, in 5 minutes or less,” and “The best news for founders, not consumers.” The about page says each issue compiles “the top interviews, posts, and articles for the week… as determined by what the community is upvoting.” Being in the newsletter is an outcome of votes. A way to buy a newsletter slot is not stated on that page.

What gets engagement, and what is not stated

Indie Hackers does not publish a list of post formats that get more upvotes, and it does not publish the ranking formula. The signals it does show are the upvote count, the comment count, the Build Board rank, the Featured label, the IH+ Subscribers Only label, and the top lists. The newsletter, per the about page, follows what the community is upvoting.

The Plus page is explicit about one privilege and silent about the mechanics: “First-class community privileges, so you can skip the “wait” and start posting on day #1.” How long a new account waits, and whether the wait is hours or days, is not stated. A best hour, a best weekday, and a minimum account age are not stated. Do not invent one from a single homepage.

Comments are part of the product page that was read. The prompt is “Say something nice…” Replies on the LaunchOn.it page are ordinary comments with a like count and a timestamp. A rule that the author must answer within a set number of hours is not stated. The about page’s description of the community is the closest line to etiquette for the thread itself: people “give and receive feedback.”

Rules that are written down

The terms captured October 22, 2026 at https://www.indiehackers.com/terms are the rules page that loaded. They are a contract with “INDIE HACKERS.” Questions go to contact@indiehackers.com or to 522 W Riverside Ave #10742, Spokane, WA 99201. The terms say Indie Hackers may change them by updating the page, emailing, or some other means.

On content, the restrictions include this clause: you will not contribute content that “(g) Runs Maillist, Listserv, any form of auto-responder or spam on the Services, or any processes that run or are activated while you are not logged into the Services.” Another clause bars content that “(k) … may be considered by Indie Hackers or its moderators as offensive, defamatory, or inappropriate.” A violation is grounds for termination of access. Elsewhere the terms say Indie Hackers may remove any content at any time, for any reason, in its sole discretion, and without notice.

The same terms mention “Indie Hackers' moderators' rules, policies and guidelines” as something user submissions may be changed to match. That guidelines document was not at a URL that loaded. /guidelines is not in the sitemap, has no 200 archive in the CDX query used here, and returned 403 live. If a moderator rule is stricter than the terms, it was not on the pages read.

One terms sentence is easy to misread next to a product directory: “You will only use the Services for your own internal, personal, non-commercial use, and not on behalf of or for the benefit of any third party.” The same terms also say Indie Hackers may offer “sponsored User Submissions, and paid marketing content and ads,” and the site publishes Add Your Product and the Build Board. This guide does not resolve that sentence into a ban or a permission. Read it on the terms page before you post.

Advertise on Indie Hackers, on the October 22 homepage, points at /product-update/-NWAAyRCgiBFt2kn1uWn. The archived HTML of that URL was an empty app shell. Ad prices, placements, and whether an ad is labeled are not stated.

What it costs

The terms, under “Does Indie Hackers cost anything?”, say: “The Indie Hackers Services are currently free at the basic tier, but we reserve the right to charge for certain or all Services. Current paid services include but are not necessarily limited to Indie Hackers Plus (IH+), which offers both monthly and annual subscription plans, and Indie Hackers Premium Profiles, which offers an annual subscription plan.” They also say you will be notified before a service you are already using starts to carry a fee.

The Plus page captured the same day shows one number. The heading is Annual Membership, the amount is 198, and the period is “per year,” with a button labeled Get Annual Access. Benefits listed with that price: unlimited access to news and trend analysis; unlimited access to Case Studies and Idea Reports; a premium founder profile for projects, content, and milestones; first-class community privileges so you can skip the wait and post on day one; and answers to questions. A monthly dollar amount is not stated on the Plus page. The terms say a monthly IH+ plan exists. Those two pages were both captured October 22, 2026, and they do not print the same set of prices.

Refunds, from the terms: annual IH+ and Premium Profiles have a 30-day window and a pro-rated refund with no questions asked. “For monthly IH+ subscriptions, refunds are not available.” Cancellation of a monthly plan keeps access until the end of the billing period. The Plus page FAQ says the same 30-day pro-rated refund “if you're not satisfied with the membership,” and that access continues until the end of the current billing period after you cancel. It does not repeat the monthly exception. Student or nonprofit discounts: the Plus FAQ says “Currently, we do not offer specific discounts.”

Posting, adding a product, and the newsletter do not show a price on the pages that describe them. The products directory gate says the account is free. Paying $198 is the Plus membership on the page that was read. It is not a fee printed on Submit a Post.

Links and backlinks

Follow attributes are not a paragraph on the terms page. The word nofollow does not appear in the October 22 terms HTML. What did appear is the rel on specific anchors.

On /products captured October 22, 2026, every Build Board website button (five of them) used rel="nofollow noopener" and target="_blank". On /product/launchon-it captured August 30, 2026, the name link, Visit Website, and the Website field pointing at https://launchon.it used rel="nofollow noopener". The X link on that page used the same rel. A URL written inside a comment on that page, https://serpspur.com, had no rel attribute. Homepage links to X, Facebook, and Instagram used rel="noopener noreferrer". Whether every product page on the site uses the same website rel is not stated. These are the anchors that were in the HTML that was read.

The sitemap is a separate fact about discovery. Fetched October 28, 2026, it lists 104,333 post URLs and the single URL /products. It lists zero /product/ URLs. Product pages are linked from the products directory and from Build Board entries. They are not in that sitemap. robots.txt, also fetched that day, disallows all crawlers from /sign-in, /sign-up, /api/, history paths, and URLs with a commentId query. It then names a list of AI crawlers, including GPTBot, ClaudeBot, Google-Extended, and PerplexityBot, and disallows them from /. It does not mention nofollow or dofollow. The Sitemap line points at https://www.indiehackers.com/sitemap.xml.

How this fits the other rooms on this site

Indie Hackers is the long thread and the product page. It is a poor substitute for a board that exists to rank a launch for one day, because Indie Hackers does not describe the Build Board as that kind of contest beyond a daily vote whose formula is not stated. Use it when the buyers are other founders and you can leave a product page and a post that still make sense next month. The short catalog version is /platforms/indie-hackers.

Show HN is a different room, on Hacker News, for something strangers can try. That guide is /guides/show-hn and the catalog page is /platforms/hacker-news. Product Hunt is the large daily board. That guide is /guides/how-to-launch-on-product-hunt and the catalog page is /platforms/product-hunt. Reddit is a set of subreddit rules, not one launch button. That guide is /guides/launch-on-reddit and the catalog page is /platforms/reddit. Indie Hackers does not say whether those three may share a morning with an Indie Hackers post. Each of those guides is a thread you stay in. Put them on different days.

A list of other places that still state a $0 submission, including the short Indie Hackers row from an earlier check, is /guides/free-launch-platforms. A dated four-week calendar that can hold a free-only plan is /tools/launch-plan-generator. It runs in the browser. It does not post to Indie Hackers for you. Every guide is listed at /guides.

A short checklist before you post

Use the row in the table, then the terms. If a field or a clock is not on the page, leave it blank rather than borrowing one from another launch site.

  • Read https://www.indiehackers.com/about and https://www.indiehackers.com/terms. The guidelines URL did not load.
  • Create the account the products page already routes through sign-up. The username rules are in the terms.
  • Add the product from Add Your Product or Add Yours. Confirm the website button on the live product page if a follow attribute matters to you. The buttons checked here were nofollow.
  • Submit the post at /new-post, and submit a Build Board update at /products/submit if the daily board is the surface you want. The fields inside those forms were not in the HTML.
  • Plus at $198 per year is optional on the page that shows the price. The wait it skips has no published length. The monthly price is not stated on /plus.
  • Do not plan the launch around /groups or /milestones. They are not in the October 26 sitemap and not in the October 22 nav. Milestones, as a word, belong to the premium profile line on /plus.
  • Show HN, Product Hunt, and Reddit are other days. Those guides are /guides/show-hn, /guides/how-to-launch-on-product-hunt, and /guides/launch-on-reddit.

The pages this guide quotes

Live files, fetched October 28, 2026: https://www.indiehackers.com/robots.txt and https://www.indiehackers.com/sitemap.xml (child sitemaps linked from the index, lastmod 2026-10-26). HTML for the same host returned 403. The captures below are Wayback copies of indiehackers.com.

  • Homepage, October 22, 2026: https://web.archive.org/web/20261022202533/https://www.indiehackers.com/
  • About / FAQ, October 22, 2026: https://web.archive.org/web/20261022144829/https://www.indiehackers.com/about
  • Products and the Build Board, October 22, 2026: https://web.archive.org/web/20261022144842/https://www.indiehackers.com/products
  • Indie Hackers Plus, October 22, 2026: https://web.archive.org/web/20261022144733/https://www.indiehackers.com/plus
  • Terms, October 22, 2026: https://web.archive.org/web/20261022144731/https://www.indiehackers.com/terms
  • Starting Up, October 22, 2026: https://web.archive.org/web/20261022144743/https://www.indiehackers.com/starting-up
  • Newest, October 18, 2026: https://web.archive.org/web/20261018042843/https://www.indiehackers.com/newest
  • Newsletter, October 17, 2026: https://web.archive.org/web/20261017112146/https://www.indiehackers.com/newsletter
  • Ideas, September 21, 2026: https://web.archive.org/web/20260921112156/https://www.indiehackers.com/ideas
  • Vibe Coding Tools, September 29, 2026: https://web.archive.org/web/20260929071043/https://www.indiehackers.com/vibe-coding-tools
  • LaunchOn.it product page, August 30, 2026: https://web.archive.org/web/20260830062557/https://www.indiehackers.com/product/launchon-it
  • Groups, September 10, 2026: https://web.archive.org/web/20260910062201/https://www.indiehackers.com/groups

FAQ

Related platforms